A Cautionary Tale

Help Support Ruger Forum:

sailorb

Single-Sixer
I have been reloading for over 25 years. Always cautious and only had a few squib loads in all those years. Recently I had problems finding primers and wound up with a box of Winchester small pistol magnums. I decided to load some .40 S&W with them. I usually don't do top end loads and thought I would be ok with them. Went to an indoor range and when I picked up the brass I found a number of bulged and ruptured cases. I've loaded about a thousand rounds of .40 before and never seen this. I know the .40 carries some cautions on reloading for this reason but had never experienced that. Guess it goes to show you are never too old to learn and never to smart to follow the rules. Neither me or my gun was damaged and I pulled all the ammo I made with those primers.

contender

Ruger Guru
By chance,, were you using a Glock to shoot this ammo? Bulged cases at the base are often found after ammo being fired in a Glock.
Did you back off the powder charge any to try this?
Did you happen to change the seating depth any?
And lastly,, by chance,, are you SURE the brass you picked up came from your gun?

As a long time reloader & such,, these are a few questions I came up with.

But,, you are correct,, changing stuff around in a reloading recipe can cause problems sometimes,, and caution is always necessary.

"By chance,, were you using a Glock to shoot this ammo? Bulged cases at the base are often found after ammo being fired in a Glock.
Did you back off the powder charge any to try this?
Did you happen to change the seating depth any?"

Ditto on all of the above.

mikld

Blackhawk
Used to be "Reloading 101" said; with any component change, drop the powder charge and do another load work up (often said to go back to min/starting loads). Not many pay much attention to that today...

We don't know if he changed anything but the primers, nor do we know how "hot" the loads were.