Reloading the Big Bores...this new hobby is very interesting

Help Support Ruger Forum:

flyerdoc

Single-Sixer
OK, I am a relative newbie to reloading. Started with a whack-a-bullet Lee start up kit and quickly determined I like reloading, but not to the extent of whacking every damned round with a hammer. Soooo, went the minimalist route and got a Lee handloader system and really like it. I am NOT reloading for automatic weapons but rather big bore handguns. 44Mag (and special), 454 Casull, and 45 Ruger.

Its literally been a blast. I am currently loading up some 45 Ruger loads. The nice thing about this is that I have a SRH in 454 Casull witch will, of course, also shoot +P loads of 45 Colt and a Blackhawk 45 and an Old Vaquero 45 that are all rated for Ruger (+P) loads. Awesome, light loads or bear protection, I don't have to worry about the gun holding up to the pressure.

So, I did procure some Missouri Bullets in 45 Silhouette, 300 grains. Gonna fix it up with some IMR 4227 (19grains+) and see how all three revolvers react. Should be fun, and I should be ok if the odd grizz meanders down to my PA neighborhood due to global warming. Let me know if any of you have experimented in a like fashion...I'll get to the range later this week and see what the results.

ditto1958

Blackhawk
I followed a similar path to yours, but with .357 magnum. I also started with a Lee Loader, and found that I enjoy reloading. Like you, I also quickly determined that I needed to get something more. I got a Lee turret press, which I tend to use more like a single stage press. I have now become addicted to reloading. It's only a matter of time before I expand to different calibers.

I'm particularly attracted to revolvers, but buying factory ammo for 45 Colt and 44 magnum, and the like does not appeal to me. Reloading can make it affordable.

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye