needing some restore advice

Help Support Ruger Forum:

AndrewCampbell

Bearcat
I have a friend who's grandparents lived in Tennessee, they both passed away a few weeks ago in a house fire. When my buddy went down there last week the police told him that his grandparents were actually murdered, robbed then the house set on fire to cover the crime. The only thing my buddy found in the house is an old Ruger single six revolver of his grandfathers. I told him that I would take on the task of restoring it to the best of my abilities. I have been assembling my own AK47's for a few years now so I'm not unfamiliar to weapons but this pistol is in pretty bad shape. I started by soaking it in motor oil and steel wooling off the surface rust. I managed to get it to cycle on it's own but there is rust everywhere as one could imagine. I completely dis-assembled the entire weapon and have been soaking all of them in oil for the last few days. I have managed to get the rust off of the barrel section but it's stained pretty bad. I'm assuming the handle assembly is aluminum as to the weight and several small dents in it are not something weapon steel would incur. I suppose my question is can I sandblast everything and just blu it like any other weapon? Not sure if rust bluing or parkerizing would be more appropriate for a pistol such as this. I will have to make my own hand grips as one of the originals is burnt up on the bottom, I have a few pieces of brazilian cherry I'm thinking will look good when finished. In all honesty I don't think my buddy wants to ever shoot it just have it look decent and frame it. On the off chance he does want to shoot it I plan on taking the cyliner and barrel assy to my work and having them magnafluxed (I work in the aerospace field).
If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you,
Andy
I will post a picture of it as it was when I got it.

modrifle3

Buckeye