Looking for a soft load.44mag with what I have to work with.

Help Support Ruger Forum:

George

Blackhawk
Yep I'm looking for a soft shooting load for .44magnum. What I have to work with. .44 magnum cases, Keth lead SWC FN 240gr. bullets. Powder IMR X700, Accurate #7 Accurate #9 I never shot a .44 magnum before and would like to work my way up to a moderately hot load. I have shot 357 in a S&W mod 19. I mostly shoot .45acp out of 1911's with out issues with recoil even with hot +p loads.
The gun the .44mags will be shot out of is a Ruger SS SBH short barrel 3 3/4" With a bisley grip.

I have some Factory Remington .44 mags green box 180gr JSP # 23744 also marked #L44MG7 not sure if they may be to hot to start out with..

I don't have a Bible yet. I'm just starting out and been going by what comes with the die sets and Powder manufactures charts I can down load online. Thought it may be wise to ask on this one first.. Thanks! George

Enigma

Hunter
First, buy at least two current reloading manuals; I recommend Lyman and Speer, personally, but they're all worth owning. Lyman recommends starting with 18.2 grains of AA #9 for around 1,000 FPS with a 240 grain cast bullet. They don't list data for either of your other two powders for this particular combination. Oh, and always, always verify Internet load data before using it!

Factory ammo is normally loaded to nominal 'full' power - whatever that may be. If you can find any locally, you might want to try a box of .44 Special ammo in your gun first. That will give you a chance to become accustomed to the trigger pull, sights, and recoil.

Lastly, be warned that reloading is an addiction. First you have all that empty brass, just waiting to be loaded. You load it, and it becomes ammo waiting to be fired, then you have all that empty brass again... You get the idea. And welcome to the addiction!

NikA

Buckeye