Want to get my 12 year old into shooting - What Ruger rifle should I purchase?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Hi everyone,

So I'm fairly new to personal gun ownership (I got my pistols 6 months ago, but have been shooting since I was younger). I have a 12 year old that is 6' tall (that is not a typo) and he has been asking me about learning to shoot. I also have never owned a rifle and am looking to get my feet wet into what is what, and what is available.

So I guess you can say this will be something my son and I will both be discovering :)

What would one suggest for a rifle for 13 year old (he turns 13 in October and this would be his birthday present)

I Appreciate any advice you can give me!

typ240

Bearcat
^^^^^^

10/22 sounds about right, your 12yo will go through 1k rounds in 15 minutes - good luck :D

Last edited:

mjh

Single-Sixer
Find a used Marlin bolt action rifle. Learn to shoot first.

Second would be a Henry lever action. Kind of classic, even if not exactly like the old lever action rifles.

Last would be a 10/22, he'll burn through a lot of ammo but but will he really learn marksmanship?

Of course Appleseed and a 10/22 would be a good combination.

Bullthrower338

Single-Sixer
Ruger American Rimfire or a 77/22(much nicer) if you can find one. The 10/22 is a great rifle but I found teaching my kids the fundamental basics that a bolt or single shot rifle was best. Teach him the basics first, then let him shoot targets like clay pigeons to keep him interested. Shooting little holes in paper entertains us old guys but kids seem to get bored easily while doing that. As long as you have a proper backstop cans, dueling trees and those molded targets that bounce around will hold their interest for hours on end.

GunnyGene

Hawkeye