Stainless steel media for cleaning

Help Support Ruger Forum:

I started thinking about a new cleaner, one of those tumblers, like Thumblers Tumblers. They can use these stainless steel pins for cleaning media.

I'm considering one because it could double as a rock tumbler to polish and clean some rocks, which is something I've been interested in for a while.

I'm not sure if the stainless pins would work for rocks or. It, but how do they clean brass? The reviews are pretty good, but does anyone here have direct experience?

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

Kevin, I have no experience with the stainless "pins" other than to look at the really pretty pictures on the Interwebs. However, I have friends who have a "rock business" which involves a lot of tumbling. Some of their stuff can take from a week to several weeks before it's ready to go. I could be wrong, but kinda thought the first part of the process involved just rocks and water, no media, then as they shaped up and smoothed out a bit, some kind of media was added. What kind I haven't a clue.

His birthday's tomorrow, and I've gotta send him a happy b-day note in a while, so I'll try to remember to ask and report back if I learn anything.

Rick C

Chuck 100 yd

Hunter
I use a Thumblers mod. B with stainless pins. Used brass comes out looking better than any factory new brass. It will hold several hundred rifle cases,up to seven or eight hundred pistol brass. Deprime first,add brass,5# SS pins, a dash of Dawn dish soap and a tsp. Of Lemi-shine, fill with water to 3/4 full and Run for 3-4 hours and open to find the prettiest brass ever,inside and out.
I just finished reloading 6K of 9mm loads. They are nicer than factory loads.

Ah ha! I'm glad I asked. See I was wondering how the steel line cleaned, but it's the water and lemi shine. Then just dump out the dirty water. Now it all makes sense.

Might have to get one for my wife for Valentine's Day. Think she would like it?

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
Kevin said: