Roasting Coffee Beans

Help Support Ruger Forum:

jeffnles1

Blackhawk
Any you all roast your own coffee?

I'd like to give it a try but no idea where to start? What kind of roaster, best place to get green beans, talking with a total newbie here.

Ideas?

Jeff

ChiefMuzz

Blackhawk
You might want to even look around for a local place that will roast. I live in a small town but have any awesome coffee place that will roast any beans they have any way I like.

jeffnles1

Blackhawk
ChiefMuzz said:
You might want to even look around for a local place that will roast. I live in a small town but have any awesome coffee place that will roast any beans they have any way I like.

Chief,
There are a couple roasters around here too. I'd just like to learn how to do it myself.

Jeff

mjoinercpd

Bearcat
I think you can find internet videos of the process. Most I have seen recommend patience and a larger cast iron pan. Either stovetop or oven.

Try this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyRfdF11g5k

737tdi

Hunter
I wish I could put you in touch with a guy I work with, he has gotten into this hobby in a big way. He is even buying his beans from suppliers somewhere in Latin America. He has started selling as well and has a website for retail. He does all of this out of his home. This is website http://www.royalbeans.com/. You might contact him and he may give you some advice. He is always yacking at work about it so I don't know.LOL

Karl

Chuckbuster II

Single-Sixer
I like Burman Coffee Traders, family operation, great service, if you email a question you get an answer that day from the owners.

http://www.burmancoffee.com
Books;
"Home Coffee Roasting, Romance and Revival" by Kenneth Davids is very good. "The Art and Craft of Coffee" by Kevin Sinnott is pretty good. I learned more from the first one. Burman's has both, guess Amazon etc. probably does also.
Equipment;