Question about Lawn Mower Blades

Help Support Ruger Forum:

My church has one of those high end zero turn lawn mowers with 3 blades.... belt drive broke last week and it went to the repair shop... shop says there is a problem with the blades and replaces them... below is a picture of the end of one of the blades... all three and both ends looked the same... here is the problem... the damaged part is on the back side of the blade. How does that part get damaged? Anybody got any ideas?

Pierow

Blackhawk
If all three blades were installed incorrectly the fronts would become the backs?

I'd call the shop who repaired it to see if they have an idea or maybe you did already and they didn't know?

That's all I got for you Blume. Let us know the cause if you get it figured out.

Pierow

JohnBoy

Blackhawk
MINNESOTA - 6 months winter and 6 months rough sle
Looks like you've been mowing on gravel! I'm no engineer but that surface is going to take the most abuse - flairing up as it does - lots of deflection. If you have a fair amount of abrasive material being lifted up, that area will bead-blast itself pretty thin and finally break off.

tsubaki

Single-Sixer
Those are the lifts and that is normal, especially seeing the wear on the cutting portion of the blade.

Bob Wright

Hawkeye
Old lawnmower and edger blades make up into good tools. I've made a small drawknife and a 1/8" wood chisel from such parts. Keep all scrap steel of useable size!

Bob Wright

powder smoke

Hawkeye
tsubaki said:
Those are the lifts and that is normal, especially seeing the wear on the cutting portion of the blade.

Yup I agree, I use similar blades go thru a couple sets a season.
The blade ends do all the extraction of clippings and dirt which is very abrasives.
I wear those wings off in rather short time frame. ps

737tdi

Hunter