Hammer Replacement on a "Vaquero"

Help Support Ruger Forum:

rockymtnhi

Bearcat
I have a Stainless Vaquero in .357 magnum (serial number starts with two numbers) and want to replace the hammer. I have replaced the hammer on a New Vaquero before with a Super Blackhawk hammer. My question is will the Super Blackhawk hammer drop in the older Vaquero as it did in my New Vaquero? Or do I need to modify it ?

rockymtnhi

Bearcat
O.K. I'm an expert in assembly and disassembly of a Ruger Vaquero! Got my new Super Blackhawk hammer from Midway this afternoon. Watched the Ruger video's on assembly and disassembly a few times. Took me about four times to get it back together right. I kept missing the tip of the spring under the loading gate (it wasn't seated in the notch) so even tho I reassembled everything I thought was right, it was binding the action. I fianally saw the problem and everything is nice and smooth now and works great! I put a Super Blackhawk hammer in a new Vaquero several years ago, but guess I forgot a step or two.

Hondo44

Hawkeye
Bravo!!

Sorry I didn't get back to this sooner but for future reference:

#2. MY SHORTCUT FOR REMOVING JUST HAMMER and/or PAWL in New Models: