CarryHawk holster recommendation

Help Support Ruger Forum:

BloodyThumb

Bearcat
First of all, I have no relationship with this maker other than as a recent customer... so there's that...

Secondly, if this maker is already know here, sorry for that. Just take the following as a review of his work.

I have more than a couple of BlackHawks and Vaqueros in my safe, and recently picked up a CarryHawk to take hiking / camping as I expect to be doing more of that due to my pending retirement and a sack full of grandkids.

Well, I have a couple hundred rounds through it now in both LC and ACP, and I am very pleased with it so far. I intend to use it with #4 shotshells in LC when snakes may be displeased with our presence, and ACP when plinking since I have been loading those for many years and have a supply.

My only issue, the front sight height is a holster issue. So, I went in search of a holster for it. I am not a cross-draw person normally, but my strong side field holsters can get in the way when carrying a rifle or even some backpacks.

Long story short, I found this maker on Etsy of all places. The pictures of his stuff looked excellent and the reviews were even better. I have bought a lot of holsters in the last 40 years from a lot of different makers at a LOT of different price points. You usually get what you pay for (if you are lucky). I have purchased low end holsters on Etsy before and they have usually been rough, but serviceable.

That is not the case here. These are certainly not LOW end, either in price or quality. BUT... the price point turned out to be one of the best values I have run across in a while.