A Useful, Inexpensive Brass Cleaning Process

Help Support Ruger Forum:

soldernut

Single-Sixer
You good folks on this board have given me so much useful information, I figured it was time to give something back - a little. Take it for what's it worth...

I just stumbled upon this method of cleaning brass - sort of by accident. It's a two-step process that cuts way down on usual tumbling times. (And you could dispense with tumbling altogether.)

Step 1:
Visiting Sportsmans Warehouse one day, I picked up a product new to me: Birchwood-Casey "Brass Cartridge Case Cleaner." I've had no experience with it, and the salesman hadn't either. But the price was right, so I thought I'd give it a try.

I'd just begun shooting 40 caliber S&W and needed a starter batch of brass, so I bought three pounds of "range" brass from our shooting club. They sweep up and sort what others leave behind, so what you get is a pretty mixed bag. Most of the stuff I got was reasonably clean, but some of it was downright nasty-looking.

The Birchwood Casey concentrate comes in a 16 oz. bottle that will make up two gallons of cleaner. The directions recommend that you start with deprimed cases. That made sense to me, so I put my Lee universal decapping die to work. You gotta love that thing. It doesn't touch your cases; just decaps them, and the way they designed it you'd have to work overtime to ever break the decapping pin.

Then you mix two ounces of the concentrate per quart of hot water. The "hot" part seems important.

Then they say you should completely immerse your brass in the solution for three minutes, stirring occasionally. I'd made up only one quart, so it took about three dunking steps to process all my range brass.

They recommend you rinse the cases (I took that to mean rinse the hell out of them in scalding hot water), then allow them to dry. They suggest you can accelerate drying by wiping the cases and taking a hair dryer to them.