A tip that worked for me

Help Support Ruger Forum:

tmahler99

Bearcat
I'm fairly new to reloading and just bought my first vibratory cleaner. I dumped some .40 S & W cases in and tumbled them. When I took them out some of the media was stuck in the flash hole. I came upon the idea of using a soft tip dart to push the media out. The size of the dart tip was small enough to fit in the hole, but not strong enough to alter the size of the hole, plus the barrel of the dart made for easy holding.

Just thought I'd share this little tip I stumbled upon.

Thanks.
Merry Christmas, Peace and God Bless.
Trent

Sounds like it ought to work just fine.

Personally, I deprime my cases before tumbling using a dedicated deprime-only die. After tumbling, I re-size the cases and the deprime pin in the sizing die removes any bits of tumbling media.

:)

Chief 101

Hunter
just tried that and at 8' I can't even hit the case let alone the primer pocket!
063.gif

contender

Ruger Guru
I use a large paperclip straightened out with a folded over piece to dislodge walnut media from flash holes in my rifle brass. Everyone creates their own little tools to get a job done. Sounds like yours is a good one.

don44

Hunter
Chief 101 said:
just tried that and at 8' I can't even hit the case let alone the primer pocket!
063.gif
Just keep practicing and you'll hit it.... I know you will. :D

contender said:
I use a large paperclip straightened out with a folded over piece to dislodge walnut media from flash holes in my rifle brass. Everyone creates their own little tools to get a job done. Sounds like yours is a good one.

Same here. That's what I've used for years and I can always lay my hands on one. :wink:

Dennis.

Chief 101

Hunter
Hey, even if I do miss a few times it is better than my old way of shooting the media out with a primer!
guns.gif

Blut und eisen

Bearcat