A No. 1 .44 Mag load for deer.

Help Support Ruger Forum:

I have limited experience hunting deer and want to work up a load for my No. 1. Hornady is the most common brand around here. I had a nice load with the 265 gr. SP, but they've been discontinued. I'm considering the 225 gr. FTX, the 240 gr. HP-XTP, and the 300 gr. HP-XTP. This load would be for the No. 1 ONLY.
Do you have to trim cases to 1.225" to shoot the 225 gr. FTX in a No. 1?
I'm using a 1-4x scope and a maximum range of 125 yards.
A 150 lb. buck will be the biggest critter I expect.
Thanks.

nvbirdman

Blackhawk
1.285 should be ok, but the problem may arise if the ogive of the bullet runs into the rifling. Try a dummy round with the bullet seated but uncrimped. If it is too long, the bullet will be pushed back into the case.

One of the great things about reloading for a No, 1 is you don't have to fit your round into a magazine or worry about crimping. At ~$50/100 for bullets (local Bass Pro) I don't want to buy a box just for fun. Trimming isn't out of the question and considering my application I'm leaning toward the 225 FTX. 296 Winchester is my 'on-hand' powder and all the data I have indicates it should work well.

Thanks for your input.

noahmercy

Blackhawk
I run 20 grains of 296 under a 300 grain XTP, which is max in one of my manuals, and a grain over max in another. I wouldn't run them in anything but a Ruger or FA revolver, but a #1 would laugh at them. I seat the bullet to the top cannelure (shorter OAL) and use a medium-heavy crimp. Very consistent and accurate. If one were to seat out and load to 100% density with W296/H110, the potential is there for a real thumper, especially in a long gun.