What do you use for home rolled ammo ID

Help Support Ruger Forum:

KurtC

Single-Sixer
I've been handloading for 4 decades and I've never understood why folks need to put the date on the label. I mean, how long do you plan on saving the ammo? Is there some amount of time that you consider it unsafe to use? It can't spoil during your lifetime, or are you saving it for your great-grandchildren? ;)

'I mean, how long do you plan on saving the ammo? Is there some amount of time that you consider it unsafe to use? It can't spoil during your lifetime, or are you saving it for your great-grandchildren?'
Possibly. I don't expect to live forever. Dating the ammo(even new factory loads) allows using older loads first. I'm shooting handloads assembled last century now.

GasGuzzler

Hunter
I've been handloading for 4 decades and I've never understood why folks need to put the date on the label. I mean, how long do you plan on saving the ammo? Is there some amount of time that you consider it unsafe to use? It can't spoil during your lifetime, or are you saving it for your great-grandchildren? ;)
Tells me what era in my career I was in, possibly what equipment I was using, what my tendencies were at the time.

For me I use painter's tape with Sharpie notes and sometimes (rarely any more), printed adhesive labels.

Depends on the mood.

Bob Wright

Hawkeye
I date my reloads so that I can rotate my brass. When empty, I place the oldest brass t be reloaded first. So a box of heavy magnum velocity stuff might not come up in rotation as frequently as the more sedate rounds.

And, just because that's the info I like to have on my ammunition boxes. Reason enough.

Bob Wright

Bob Wright

Hawkeye
And another thing....................I keep track of how many times a box has been reloaded. I load magnum velocity loads up to ten times, then after that use the brash for moderate velocity loadings. Defense loads get loaded only a four time cycle.

Bob Wright