taper crimp die question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Ka6otm

Blackhawk
Chuck 100 yd said:
Jimbo357mag said:
gwpercle said:
Lee Factory Crimp dies are great for people who don't know how , or can't figure out how , to properly adjust their crimping dies.
Not true. I know how to adjust a seating and crimping die but I prefer a separate crimping die and if I am going to have a separate crimping die the Lee FCD works well and for not much investment. It's just logical. :D

+1

I've been reloading for 61 years and know very well how to adjust crimp dies and I've also loaded long enough to know that there's a better solution.

It's the FCD

mikld

Blackhawk
Ok, let's say I'm gonna toss my FCD and buy a Wilson (type) gauge. I use it, and find my rounds are oversized. What do I do now?

This is one place the FCD makes some sense to me...

Rick C
This is where you go back and find what die is misadjusted or recheck your components. Measure your bullets. Measure the case after each operation. Simple. You could be using oversize bullets (fat bullets + thick case walls = fat cartridges). You could be bulging the case during the crimping. You could be buckling the case during flaring (I had a Lee die that had a "step" at the end of the flare taper and too much force would buckle the case). Find out when the "oversize" happens makes it easy to fix...

What did bizillions of reloaders do when reloading 45 ACP rounds prior to Lee's introduction of their handgun FCD? Perhaps they just correctly adjusted their dies and used the barrels of their guns as a "gauge"...

Hmmm. Just noticed your 3,000+ post count and that makes me think this post of yours was "tongue in cheek", not serious... :mrgreen:

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
mikld said:
What did bizillions of reloaders do when reloading 45 ACP rounds prior to Lee's introduction of their handgun FCD? Perhaps they just correctly adjusted their dies and used the barrels of their guns as a "gauge"...