Question for you 44spl shooters:

Help Support Ruger Forum:

tsubaki

Single-Sixer
I've been reloading a 180gr XTP for almost 24 years at 1.500" and Hornady's 9th Edition lists the same.
A few weeks ago I cast some 240gr Lee bullets to try something completely different. I looked at the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook 4th Edition and the COAL is listed as 1.615". Figured this was a simple misprint as the usual 44mag COAL is 1.610".
Well not only does Lyman's 4th Edition list the COAL as 1.615" so does Sierra's 2nd Edition, Lyman's 46th Edition, Modern Reloading by Richard Lee, and Sierra's 5th Edition.

What do your reloading books list as the COAL for the 44 Special?

tsubaki

Single-Sixer
Jim Luke said:
I just seat to the crimp groove on all bullets
This is what I've usually done also with most cannelure groove bullets.
The Lee tumble lube bullets will allow almost any oal, this was how I found the discrepancies.

tsubaki

Single-Sixer
I just measured my Rossi, the cylinder is 1.560".
Add the .060" rim thickness of the case we end up with 1.620".
So it is doable if you are comfortable a .005" clearance.
Man, I'm all fine seating to the groove with rifle stuff but I ain't going to set the bullet that close to the forcing cone!

mikld

Blackhawk
All of mine say 1.615...but, I just seat to the crimp groove on all bullets...don't really worry about COL.
Me too. All my revolver bullets get seated to the cannalure/crimp groove for about the last 30 years...

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

I don't load many .44 Spls, but when I do, with cannelured bullets, I, too, follow Jim's method of just loading to the cannelure. With my cast bullets, I normally load to the top groove for handgun calibers. There are many OAL numbers available, though, and here are the ones I found without digging too deep:

Per SAAMI, Speer 13, Lee Modern Reloading 1st Ed, Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook 3rd Ed: (All provide a complete diagram of cartridge dimensions) Max 1.615"