Jumping the Crimp

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Fredo

Bearcat
My 357 lcr recently jammed at the range. The round on the right was eventually extracted obviously jumping the crimp. Should I limit myself to 38 special only or change ammo brands ( Sig SAUER). I'm new to firearms so any advice would be appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_5020.jpeg
    IMG_5020.jpeg
    314.4 KB · Views: 57
I'd try other brands of ammo. Perhaps with lighter bullet weights, if possible, which might be less inclined to give trouble.

Last edited:
Pictures don't always tell an accurate story. I do not see much of a crimp. And the crimp cannelure doesn't look very deep to start with.
IMG_5020.jpeg

Again, maybe the photo is fooling me.. Either way, maybe try a different bullet with a potentially deeper cannelure, for the crimp to actually get a hold of something.

And if these are not reloads, then yes, try a different brand. I've never had a factory .357 cartridge jump crimp. But the LCR is extremely light, and punishing. It will find a weakness in both the ammunition and the shooter!

And Welcome!

Last edited:

gnappi

Single-Sixer
I don't see a crimp, and the cannelure where it should be is too far out to be of any use.

If you have a large supply of these a friend who can re-seat and crimp them for you will work, but I'd give a call to Sig about them.

contender

Ruger Guru
Welcome to the Forum Fredo!!

You have been given excellent advice above.

Bullets jumping the crimp are not uncommon in certain situations. Light guns,, combined with heavy recoiling ammo can easily cause this.
In reloading,,, when we are making our own heavy recoiling ammo, we always try to make sure we have a good crimp to help prevent this.