factory refinish

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Butch2

Bearcat
Newbie here requests help from the old pros. Is there a telltale mark that Ruger placed on factory refinished guns? If so, where is it located? I looked at a late 1960's vintage single six today that looked too good to be true. I did a quick search on the forum but did not find what I was looking for. I am contemplating a purchase and would greatly appreciate any help on this. Many thanks for helping a ruger rookie.

contender

Ruger Guru
Welcome to the Forum!

I've never known Ruger to mark a gun they refinished. Only when they do the safety conversion will they mark the gun. That mark is hidden under the main frame.

Jim Puke

Hunter
I have wondered if they put an identifier on refinished guns, also. Of course, most folks can tell refinish from original.

Butch2

Bearcat
contender and Jim Luke, thank you gentlemen for your help. I looked at this in a dimly lighted shop and realized that the smart thing for me to do would be to compare this side by side with other similar era Rugers that are obviously not refinished. Sometimes, I just need to be reminded things. Thanks

good info above, and no there is not any markings as such, but that being said, there are two "extremes" to keep in mind,,,,one if a gun looks TOO good to be true, or is being touted as "brand new, never fired" , little lights should go off in your head, especially if there is BIG BUCKS involved, the other side ,or end of the extreme is , if a gun looks like it was reblued, then it most likely was........comparing one , to another is kinda tough as there are so many reasons for two guns to be quite "different" looking, storage, cleaning/maintenance, chemicals and solutions used, and how hard one rubs and wipes...also time,, exposure to sun light, makes two guns look totally different from one another, also, the light you are using, and what is on the gun , (oil or wax?) etc...........