Abandoned & Little-Known Airfields

Help Support Ruger Forum:

wheelgun1958

Blackhawk
“History & mystery combined.”

On the following pages, you will find information on vanished or abandoned airfields & their unusual histories.

As a pilot, a particular interest of mine has always been the abandoned airfields that dot the landscape of much of this country.

Both for their potential safety value to a pilot in an emergency,

and also for their sometimes fascinating history, this particular topic has always held my curiosity.

When I'm a passenger on commercial flights,

I've always found myself looking out the window, constantly looking for airfields below.

When I fly as a pilot myself, I've always tried to land at as many airports as possible,

to learn a little about each one.

http://www.airfields-freeman.com/

exavid

Hunter
I don't know when Kivalina got a runway for anything like that size. I used to fly in and out of that village with a Cessna 180 back in the sixties. The runway is laid out on sand with Marsden mats. It was about useable about 2000' feet long. Most commonly it had a strong on shore crosswind that made wet steel mats very interesting for a tail dragger. Ain't no way a C5 was on that runway. I don't believe a C47 could have done it either. Though I was told it had been done by one several years before I saw the place.

Speaking of interesting abandoned airports there are two along the coast between Kotzebue, AK and Point Hope, AK. One was the Cape Krusenstern USAF radar station about 50 miles or so NNW from Kotzebue. A real hog back across a hilltop about 2500' back when I was there after the USAF Dewline site was built in Kotzebue. I salvaged quite a few good heavy 50 gallon drums there, the good ones with rolled ends that would take a barrel pump without breaking out the bung.