Figured it was time for a PCC

Help Support Ruger Forum:

noahmercy

Blackhawk
I've been tossing around the idea of a 9mm carbine for a few years. A compact long gun that punches like a 357 Magnum pistol, has light recoil, uses one of the most readily-available cartridges (and components for those of us who handload), and reloads quickly & easily seemed like a handy thing to have around. A collapsible, folding, or takedown design would make it even more utilitarian.

I pondered an AR-platform, since it is fairly ubiquitous and easy to find parts and accessories for, but the prices were far more than I wanted to pay for one that has good sights, furniture, and trigger, and that shoots good groups.

I looked at the Kel-Tec SUB2000 series. Didn't like the charging arrangement, and it was awkward for me to get on the sights. Price was nice, though, especially with the current $100 rebate.

Hi-Point is always a solid low-buck choice. Their carbines are decently accurate and reliable. But they have pretty crunchy/mushy triggers, and use a low-capacity proprietary magazine which left me feeling "meh". Additionally, they don't point well for me.

The new Smith & Wesson FPC? Didn;t even bother looking. I will never buy a new S&W again after all the issues I've had with my wife's M&P 15-22. Shoddy build quality and some of the worst customer service I've ever encountered.