What hardware to install compact grip onto my new GP100?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

orygunmike

Bearcat
I have a newer GP100 with the hogue grips. I want to install the compact grip (I haven't purchased it yet)

I'm new to Ruger revolvers. What mounting hardware will I need and what are the best sources?
Screws?
Grip locator panel?

Thanks for the help.

wolfee

Blackhawk
Here are the part numbers needed to install genuine Ruger rubber grips with the Ruger black xenoy panels
Grip Panel Screw GP100fs/SP101 KW01300
Grip Ferrule, (left) GP100fs/SP101 W01015
Grip Ferrule, (right) GP100fs/SP101 W01014
You also need a grip panel locator which I believe is the same for both size grips, but don't have the number.
The black xenoy's are
Grip Inserts, Black Plastic (Sold in Pairs Only) SP101 W21018
Note that there is no GP100 listing for these panels but I assure you they fit the GP100 compact rubber, IF it is Ruger.

If you get a set of Altamont panels, they come with a single screw and that is all you need. Be careful, it takes only a tiny purchase into soft brass.

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
This thread on another forum shows before and after pictures. It also advises buying the sp101 grip to get all the insert parts needed instead of individual parts.
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=458465

You might like custom inserts.
http://timsworkshop.blogspot.com/p/ruger-sp101-grip-panels-for-sale.html

NewportNewsMike

Single-Sixer
Here are some more pictures dealing with replacing a GP-100 Hogue grip with an old-style Ruger compact grip.

Note that you will need to remove the Hogue attaching hardware in the first photo to be able to use the old-style Ruger grip.

Picture number two shows the old-style Ruger mounting hardware.

Finally, picture number three shows the size comparison between the Hogue, the full-size old-style Ruger, and the old-style round-butted compact grip.