Rookie 9mm question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Dan in MI

Staff member
I've loaded a lot of calibers for a long number of years. I never got into the 9mm. Well I recently did. I vaguely remember hearing people complain about loading 9 because of XXXX.

Are there any peculiar pitfalls to watch out for with 9mm?

I've been loading for nearly 40 years. Standard handgun rounds, rifle rounds, wildcats you name it except 9mm. So is it really that much different?

Minor list of what I've loaded, 38/357/357maxi, 41, 44, 45lc, 45 acp 10mm, 223, 308, 30-30,-30-06, 7tcu, 7int r, 22 hornet, 270 ren, 270 rocket, 7-08, 375 super mag, 30 Merrill, etc.... (I told you I wasn't new to this)

Johnnu2

Hunter
Nope, not for me it's not (different that is). I bought my first 9mm handgun aprrox 2018 (?) and started reloading 9mm for the very first time. No magic that I found to reload. I do find that the small cases are a PIA to handle; but then again, I reload on an RCBS Jr. single stage press.... Also, I'm anal with a lot of time on my hands so I weigh each powder charge .... I use Titegroup BTW. Oh, yeah, I taper crimp.
Hope this helps,
J

Correct, it's just a matter of paying attention and using compatible components. My last 9mm loading excursion got into difficulties when using heavy/long bullets and cases that had internal construction that wasn't compatible with such long bullets. I like to use a powder that uses most of the available space in the case(AA#7 is my favorite).

mikld

Blackhawk