Rim damage?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Quietdood

Bearcat
I admit, I'm very new to rifle shooting and I picked up a Mini-14. When reviewing my spent casings (hopefully one day I'll learn to reload) I noticed that the rim of the casings have at least one area where the bolt perhaps took a bite into it. Is this common with carbines/rifles? Do rims get chewed up and flattened?

pvtschultz

Blackhawk
Yeah, you'll notice that auto feeders tend to be quite hard on brass. I was keeping the brass from my SKS in the interest of reloading it, that was until I started picking them up. The necks on most of them were dented pretty badly and the rims, as you mentioned, are tore up by the aggressive feeding and extraction.

Pal Val

Buckeye
Where hard steel meets soft brass, you can expect the brass to get nicked. Self-loading actions do it worse than manual because of the forces driving them. As long as the rim is not deformed, it can be reused. Chewed up and flattened? Not good for a reload. Chances are that it could jam the action. The action is designed for brand-new brass. That's why it's recommended that brass for self-loaders be full-length resized.

Chief_10Beers

Blackhawk
Pal Val":1x4g84rp said:
Where hard steel meets soft brass, you can expect the brass to get nicked. Self-loading actions do it worse than manual because of the forces driving them. As long as the rim is not deformed, it can be reused. Chewed up and flattened? Not good for a reload. Chances are that it could jam the action. The action is designed for brand-new brass. That's why it's recommended that brass for self-loaders be full-length resized.

What if the Case Mouth is dented in but not creased? Half my Brass is like that...........................

Snake45

Hawkeye
Chief_10Beers":2g46op1x said:
Pal Val":2g46op1x said:

What if the Case Mouth is dented in but not creased? Half my Brass is like that...........................