Reloading .44 Magnums with the limited powders we have?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

George

Blackhawk
I'm hunting down some power for .44 magnums... Hard t come by now I guess. like ammo was a few years ago! I do have some IMR X 700 that I have used for my .45 acp's.. I looked online and have found on the IMR web site a chart for .44mag but it only lists the max load for the 240 gr LSWC Elmer K bullets and that is 9.5grs. I would like to start out with a load more to the high end of a .44 special.. they do list some load for that round with both starting load and max loads! I only have .44 mag cases and being new to this I didn't know if the x 700 power could be used in a .44 mag case reduced to .44 special levels.. Starting load is 4.3 grs max 4.9grs again with the 240 gr Elmer K bullets.. Also how hard can I push the Elmer K's with out to much leading? The last question was kind a for down the road as I'm not sure if there hardened or not.. Again I'm new to all this!! Thank you.. George

I am not familiar with 700x. I use 2400 a lot, and 296/H110 occasionally. I have also used Alliant 4227(I am not a fan of it). Leading is caused by an improper fit. I am assuming this will be used in a revolver. Measure the cylinder throat. If .429, then using .430 for lead cast should work fine. That seems like an awfully large spread between the # grains for a .44 spcl vs the magnum in your 700x. Good luck.
gramps

110 and HS6 is readily available in my area may be a decent choice.
Due to the scarcity of 2400 I have been using HS 6. and pleased!
Some loads here. ps

http://www.reloadammo.com/44loads.htm

stevemb

Hunter
If you want to stay to the lighter end, and want some efficiency, you can seat the SWC's deeper. Crimp over the edge of the forward driving band, the shoulder. This will reduce case volume amd allow 44spec like charge weights to work. Tough to give loading advice over the web..risky. Please be careful, get more and other opinions.

5of7

Hunter