Quick questions on Rifle Dies

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
gmaske":3rgzno4r said:
I was wondering about their case lube....Sounds like I might not want to try it. Thanks

Hi,

As w/ so many things from Lee, you've gotta RTFM and do it the way they tell you to unless you wish to be disappointed.

I've been using their lube for several years. Exactly as the directions say. Works great. Even turned a couple of .270 cases in some poorly sorted range brass "back into '06s" and only noticed a little extra resistance on the press handle.

Give it a try... if you don't like it, you're not out much.

Rick C

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
dmazur":1a4gcv54 said:
That rifle (Garand) not only has concerns about proper headspace, but proper choice of powder, as its long, thin operating rod isn't very tolerant of modern (slow) powders.

Hi,

Have you tried one of the adjustable gas ports? I've heard they take a lot of the "worry" out of using the "wrong" powders as well as lessening the beating on the rifle's parts even w/ the "right" powders? (I'm assuming one of the 4895s is still pretty much at the top of the "preferred" list?)

Rick C

gmaske

Bearcat