price check on components.

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Kyhunt

Single-Sixer
Since I'm just getting into reloading and I know ammo and things are at a high price I was wondering if folks could tell me if these where decent prices or too high. They dont have then in stock but I can order and have them in about 3 weeks which is fine for me. Gives me time to read more.

CCI 500 primers= $30/1000
CCI 550 primers=$30/1000
Winchester lrg rifle= $30/1000
Unique powder= $ $19/ 1 pound
2400 powder= $20 / 1 pound
IMR 4064= $24/ 1 pound

Kyhunt

Single-Sixer
I would have to order it so it would be slapped with a $20 hazmat fee because its not through a local dealer.

contender

Ruger Guru
If those prices are after the hazmat fees,,, then they are descent for current pricing.
I just bought a case of primers for $130,,, (mixed types,) a 5 lb keg of Trailboss for $95, and several 1 lb cans for $18-$20 each. That was after taxes and no hazmat.

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

Those prices are pretty much "pre-panic" level around here! Right now, there are considerations that go beyond price, the most important to me being "Do you have it in stock?" or "Can you GET it for me?"

There have been times recently when I've had to bite the bullet as it were, such as paying a hair over $30 for a pound of H-4895 from the only guy in three counties I could find who had it. My alternative choice was to wait until someone else had it, which could be months! Someone else posted having to pay something like $65/m for primers cuz they were faced w/ the same alternatives.

Haz-mat fees aggravate me, but "proper" planning for me means making orders of a good enough size to amortize all the costs out over the entire cost of the order. For example, let's look at one powder I use and my three usual sources for it:

Online price: $20/lb plus $22.50 haz-mat

Gunshow price: $22/lb plus $14 admission plus $16 gas