M77 Tang Safety 7x57 rebarrel project

Help Support Ruger Forum:

homers

Bearcat
I have a mid 70's Ruger M77 Tang Safety 7x57 that I've never been able to get to shoot, especially with bullets less than 175gr. I'd like to find a replacement barrel (still 7x57) that can shoot 130-150 gr bullets. Looking for barrel and twist recommendations. Any gunsmiths that can do the job as well.

6mm Remington

Single-Sixer
I just had a Shilen match grade stainless 24" barrel put onto my .280AI and I'm very happy with how it turned out. The twist is 1-9".

If it was me and I'm no expert buy any means, but I would do a 23 or 24" barrel about the same contour as the factory barrel and I would choose a 1-9" twist for it also. As far as barrels there are many good ones out there.

Sagebrush Burns

Single-Sixer
Bea aware of throating depth and rifling twist. Many 7x57s have very long throats for the 175 bullets and end up with a lot of free bore for anything lighter. In my experience free bore is no friend of accuracy. 7x57 twist rates are usually fast (also for the 175s) but they usually will work OK with lighter bullets.

kodiakisland

Bearcat
The long throats on the early Rugers are an issue for many. Where they got their specs for the chamber are anyones guess, but it's even longer than many military mausers.

There are probably at least 20 or more good barrel makers these days. It's really hard to pick a bad one. My advice for people who don't have a preference for barrel or smith is to send it to Pac-Nor and have them do the work. Cut out the middle man by having the barrel maker chamber and install it. I have Mark Chanlynn in Colorado install his barrels on my rifles, but the wait time can be long.

There is really no reason to go with anything other than a 9 twist. It will shoot all lengths well except for the really long VLDs that are not meant for the 7X57 anyway.

Where are you located? There is probably a good barrel maker near you that can help you out.

OldRugerMan