I lucked into a bh 357 MAXIMUM 10.5" from 82-84. WOW

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Prescut

Single-Sixer
I started a post on blueing from Ruger and it has changed drastically. It is now about anyone who knows the Maximum.
I have cut/paste the text from there to start here:

OK the guns a 357 Maximum not Magnum.
And that means it has to be only 82-84 ish.

If I had sent it to Ruger, they would have kept it! It has a recall on it for many years, hence only two years of production. They offer you a trade. It could get flame cut above the breech from reloaders light bullets (below 124g). They were getting big time high velocity (1800fps+) by using heavy loads as well as too light bullets. It was intended for hunters and silhouette (Heavy bullets).

So my question as a newbie, I think I withdraw.

This SBH 357 Maximum is Spectacular! I think its a tank. around 10,000 made. 5,000 destroyed. Don't do anything stupid and it should last 4 lifetimes. It was actually made and sold big time as a 44 mag frame.

Will somebody please tell me this is a dumb azz move on my part! Should I send it to the fires of Mount Doom to be destroyed like the ring instead?

I really need some help if I keep it. I have never seen Maximum ammo ever and my favorite is 357 Magnum. Does everyone order on-line?
Ouch on those prices.

Prescut

48flyer

Single-Sixer
Be glad you decided not to send it in.
Learn to reload and you'll be fine, otherwise just shoot Magnums in it. It'll be fun.
If you decide to part with it, let me know.
Oh, and get Coogs the serial number. (He'll be along shortly to explain.)

Salmoneye

Single-Sixer
Why in God's name would you consider sending it in, when you can more than likely trade or sell up/into whatever you want?

As for ammo, .357 Max is a handloaders dream...

Coogs

Maximum