• Officers

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Defender

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

hittman

Staff member
Which size 1911 do you prefer and why?

Do you believe any one is more or less reliable than the other(s)?

I'm not voting because I'm not experienced enough with 1911's to know the difference on my own. As I've said before, only one I've ever owned or fired is a full sized RIA I've had only a year or so.

Snake45

Hawkeye
I'm a huge fan of the looks, balance, and "carry-ability" of the LW Commander series. But I actually prefer shooting a full-size all steel GM.

I don't yet trust the reliability of any 1911 system with a barrel shorter than 4.25". Saint John Moses Browning built a lot of "overkill" into the original 1911 platform. IMHO the Commander trims all of it out and gets down to the bare minimum of what you need. Anything less is just that--less. :?

Anthony Williams

Single-Sixer
For the first time I found myself agreeing with Snakes.45 on one point.
And that is, that I like the looks of the full size 1911. However, I don't care to tote one of those around, they just seem to big and heavy for a concealment gun. I used to like the Commander for that purpose, that was until the Officer's model came out, a model which I prefer above all.

A.W.

The Wall

Single-Sixer
I carry my full size and it's very comfortable. With the proper holster you don't even know it's there. Actually I was surprised at how well it carries.
The single stack mag. well and slender frame of the 1911 makes it great to carry. Im a fairly large guy at 6'2 and 240lbs. so I'm sure that helps. I'm sure the other sizes would carry just as good. I carry it OWB covered by shirts or jacket with no printing at all. I can't say that about others that I carry like the XDM, and Beretta 96. I can still carry them but have to be more careful about grip frame bulge. As long as you can't tell it's a gun it's not a big issue.

Sugar River

Buckeye
For shooting I'll take a Government every time.