Ded dot scopes

Help Support Ruger Forum:

VA Shooter

Single-Sixer
I have been thinking about getting a red dot for my 10/22 I have been looking at Mueller quick shot. Have any one used a ded dot on their 10/22, if so what do you think about them Thanks

9x19

Hunter
I've no experience with the Mueller, but have a couple 10/22s with red-dot sights.

They are quick and a good choice for close in or moving shots.

At 50 yards or more, I'd rather have some magnification.

mishtub

Blackhawk
I have an A.I.M reflex sight
warfare-edition-dual-illuminated-reflex-sight.jpg

that is similar to the Mueller quick shot, plus several others.
When the sun is behind you it can "wash out" the dot somewhat and the lens being exposed gathers dust and dirt easily. Other than those minor issues, they allow quick target acquisition with both eyes open. I'm with 9x19, over 50 yards I prefer some magnification.

If you ever get the big catalog from Midway they have a full double page spread of Red dots.... what I realized when looking at all the options is I'm pretty sure just about 90% of them are made by one or two companies in China... they are all pretty much designed and shaped the same with just a few differences or in some cases nothing more than different coating and label.

Kyberz

Bearcat
About a year ago I thought about doing the same. I didn't want to spend much so I bought a Tasco just to see how it worked out. After ignoring the instructions regarding up/down, left/right. They were backwards. I'm really happy with the results. I'm sure one can spend more, but the Tasco has been flawless so far.

Well, OK, other than the instructions on how to zero... :lol:

Kyberz

Bearcat
kacher1 said:
Most scopes/red dots move groups the same. I remember which way to turn (if the dials are hard to read) by "clockwise the L's." Clockwise left and clockwise lower. :)