Another handgun reloading question....

Help Support Ruger Forum:

As I mentioned in the other thread, I have been reloading .41 Mag for years. I'm no expert, but I have followed all the rules and so far no issues with any of my loads. My die set is a carbide three die set from RCBS that has worked well. My question is when I finish a round, the case walls are not straight, you can see where the base of the bullet is in the case. There is a slight bulge there that continues to the crimp, almost as if the case was resized too much, or the bullet is slightly larger than it should be. Is this cause for alarm? I've had no issues of any kind, it just looks a little weird since new rounds always have a straight case with no variance.

It has been a while since I've done much shooting or reloading (have moved too many times!), but I am looking to start again if I can find components (primers and powder). Thus the questions........

dannyd

Hunter
The only way to get rid of that is with a Redding Duel Ring sizing die, but they don't make one for 41 magnum.

If you look at almost any reloaded rounds you will see that to some extent. Definitely not a problem to shoot just looks.

Cholo

Staff member
Nearly all, if not all, of my revolver reloads have that bulge. I also use RCBS dies. I'm about to load 200 357's for the 20th time and then the brass will be retired. The bulge hasn't effected the case life, though NikA is correct in that theoretically it could shorten case life.

One thing's for sure, our cases have one hell of a grip on those bullets LOL

Length of bullet shank may not be compatible with internal case shape.
I had issues when loading Federal 147 HST bullets in non-Federal cases. A LEE factory crimp die (?) did the trick but I sort of wonder what it does to the bullet base when it smushed the case straight again. Better solution: use only FEDERAL cases for those bullets.

Ka6otm

Blackhawk
"They won't fix what the OP is posting about though."