357 GP100 7-shot ammo binding issue

Help Support Ruger Forum:

DaveKrueger

Bearcat
NOTE: I posted this on the Ruger Pistols Forum. If there are rules against cross posting questions like this, my apologies and I understand if you choose to delete it. This is my first post here, so I'm a total noob. I'm also quite new to the handgun scene.

I just bought a 357 GP100 4" 7-shot revolver a week or so ago and have been to the range to shoot some 357 and 38 ammo through it a couple times and have noticed some binding issues that I only managed to figure out today.

When I load up factory Blazer Brass 38 spl FHP, the last round causes the rim to bind against the rims of the already loaded rounds. In other words, the rounds are so close together in the 7-shot cylinder, that the rims touch. It doesn't matter which chamber is loaded last and it doesn't matter which round is loaded last. It is not a round specific or chamber specific problem.

Unless I push the round in with some thumb pressure, it will stick out enough to bind against the frame of the gun when I close the cylinder interfering with the rotation of the cylinder and operation of the trigger.

If I push the round in with some thumb pressure, it will go in, the cylinder will close, and everything works fine. But, when I then try to eject the spent rounds, I have to really push on the ejector rod to get the casings to elect.

Using a caliper, I measured the 38 Blazer Brass FMJ rims and they come in at about 0.435" or so, which is less than the 0.440" specification for .38 and .357 mag. But, when I measure the 357 Blazer Brass mag rounds, the rims are definitely slightly smaller in diameter and I do NOT have this problem with their 357 ammo.

So, the question is whether anyone has heard of this issue with GP100 or any other 7 or 8 shot revolver where the cylinder chambers are so close together.

I plan to contact Ruger and Blazer to see what they say. I will report back here if/when they reply.