2004 .357 Birdshead Vaquero pair value ?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Engine49guy

Bearcat
Hello,
I was organizing my safe and unearthed a pair of Ruger Vaquero .357's I bought around 10 years ago but never shot.
They are both LNIB, 4 5/8" Birdshead Vaqueros, both in .357 Magnum with white Micarta Ruger grips with medallions.
One is SS , the other has a blue barrel and cylinder with case colored frame.

Just wondering what they might bring at auction nowadays.

If it is worthwhile may put them up to make room in the safe.
Thanks in advance
Best regards

roylt

Hunter
I'm no expert by any means but a current bird goes for around 500 or so. I personally would like a 357 vs current 45. There are guys that collect birds that may have a better idea.

If you do sell, I hope you post here and let us know where and when.

Varminterror

Blackhawk
I'd be very interested in the grips. Either sale or trade - I have black micartas to replace them.

Varminterror

Blackhawk
The .357mags tend to bring the least of all of the original Vaqueros. $500 would be a generous bid. I've seen stunning examples go under $400. The birdy frames would help a little, but not much, since it limits their versatility.

roylt

Hunter
You could alway auction with a reserve. I am on a tight budget but would watch for sure. A stainless white bird would be nice....

Varminterror

Blackhawk
I don't know that I believe in 3 times as much, but I should have been more clear - I'd be willing to trade blacks to not leave you without grips on the revolvers, and make the trade worthwhile financially.

Engine49guy

Bearcat
Thank you for all for the info and offer,
While I do actually prefer black grips to white going to leave them as they shipped .

I have a friend that is keen for them but he is broke and wants to do some horse trading,
Have another friend that wants to put them up for auction but not so motivated if worth only $400.