new pistol or ammo??

Help Support Ruger Forum:

boomer92266

Single-Sixer
I have been saving for over 6 months and have $300 to spend, well I was gonna save and have more and not have a question to post but my local shop guy called me so I now have to do one or the other. He said that his distributors on ammo were saying slow shipments to no shipments in a few weeks and he said the guns were going up in price as well but didn't say how much. I have one G3c, 10 magazines with it and around 5000 rounds of ammo with about 60% fmj and 40% jhp. I also have a Bond arms and up to 7 yds, it will group as good as my G3c but don't class it as a regular carry gun but just as a yard work gun. I don't shoot much now as I have several hundred through the G3c and fire about 20 rds a month now. I also have a 12 gauge home defense gun with 200 boxes shotshells and 120 5rd boxes of slugs. My 22lr I believe is ok at about 28,000 rds for it. So what would you do? buy another 9mm like the G3c or EC9s handgun or buy more 9mm ammo or even some 12 gauge ammo? Thanks for any help

Sounds like you don't have an AR in there. A little more will get you a Palmetto. Maybe a Hi Point or Kel Tec Carbine. A carbine is faster and easier than a handgun. A 9mm Carbine is an easy 100yd gun extending your range considerably. Also effective on deer. The Kel Tec folds down super compact and light. You might also want to upgrade to a PSA Dagger at some point so you will have broad magazine compatibility with a 9mm Carbine.

Last edited:
I have this same debate almost every time I have enough saved up for a new gun.

The debate is a new-to-me-gun or more ammo and perhaps a red dot or some nice accessory for an existing gun.

How long has it been since you bought a new gun? If it's been a while I say get the gun. But if it's your second or third gun this year, then I vote for more ammo.