10/22 Barrel Band Screw?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

RickMessNC

Bearcat
OK, yes I am a noob and this is probably the "dumbest" question ever asked, but here goes...why is the barrel band screw on a 10/22 Takedown so long? Seems it could get snagged pretty easily. Am I missing something? Is there another use for that screw that I am unaware of? Thank you for not laughing too hard. :)

Attachments

• IMG_6754.jpeg
    IMG_6754.jpeg
    231.5 KB · Views: 69

RC44Mag

Buckeye
Just checked mine it was bought new, it's a wood stocked 10/22 in the 80's. It's quite a deal shorter than yours. Length on the end is about as long as yours where the threads stop and mine has no threads past the clamp itself. maybe Screw for wood v synthetic stock are different for some reason? Perhaps yours isn't a stock screw for the 10/22 or they changed them for some reason, maybe for sling attachment ? Honestly, I wouldn't be concerned if I were you.

Last edited:

RickMessNC

Bearcat
Thanks. This is a new rifle - just took it out of the box a week ago. No upgrades. Unaltered 10/22 Takedown, Synthetic Stock, 16.4 inch barrel. Just a curious question. I do know it will have no affect on the shooting - that's on me.

That does look a little long, usually don't see much for threads past the band. I don't have access to my 10/22s at the moment. Not sure of the difference between the metal alloy and poly barrel bands other than the poly bands use nuts, but some models or variants came with a sling mount in the band.

Here's a pic of a 1994 and 2007 w/sling mount. These have the metal bands with no nut.

2CFCA315-F590-495B-B61F-8F650158669C.jpeg