Who has a P89X

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Flash

Buckeye
I've been fooling around with my 30 Luger barrel that I bought for my P89 and began to try sizing 9mm Luger brass. Well the neck looks patheticly short but it holds a 110 grain jacketed bullet well enough to feed them properly and they're extremely accurate with a mild load of Red Dot. Just wanted to share.

roylt

Hunter
Pics? I am confused by what you are saying. I am fairly new to guns.

There is a new one on gunbroker right now if you wantthe link just ask. Someone of your talent can probably find it though.

Flash

Buckeye
Talent? Thanks for the compliment but i don't agree with you on that one.
The P89X was one that was offered in 9mm and 30 Luger both with two separate barrels. The 30 Luger is a cartridge that is slightly longer than the 9mm but shoots a 30 caliber (308) bullet as opposed to the 9mm (356) bullet. I haven't any pictures of the rounds yet but the gun is common

November

Single-Sixer
Hey, Flash. I have a 30 Luger barrel, but no P89. I had to make several untested and therefore unsafe mods to make it fit the P94. (which is probably a bad idea). Only thing is, I've never come across any 30 luger ammo so I don't know if it works! :lol:

Flash

Buckeye
Oh my, i hope it works for you. Those barrels often bring over $100.
I've been using 110 gr RNSP's and keep the cartridge length to just allow it to fit down in the magazine. Nice hearing from you again November

Here's the difference:
DSCN0750.jpg

roylt

Hunter
I inherited a P38 that shoots 9mm and in the gun case was a box of Reminton 30 Luger. I knew nothing of guns at the time but this has sparked my memory a bit. Can you shoot the 30 out of a 9mm barrel? As long as the mag would hold the round?

I can figure why the rounds would have been in the cabinet otherwise.

I don't plan on trying it but if someone can set me straight.

Al James

Hunter