Need input on a Mini 14 SS Folder GB, 182 Series

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Marcus99

Bearcat
I'm still new to and learning about the Mini 14 so could use any input on the one listed below that I am considering purchasing. Please correct me if I am wrong on any of the following too.

It is a 182 series Mini 14 Folder in Stainless Steel, GB model. I am still researching the various series and versions, but as I understand it this is the sought after folder version popularized in 1980's media such as the A-Team and Death Wish 4 with Charles Bronson. I've always really liked the way these particular ones look hence why I am considering it - I've never shot one and only held a fixed stock one once.

I've heard accuracy is questionable on the early ones. Is this true? Anything else I need to be aware of? Does this one appear 100% original? How's parts availability? I would shoot it although probably only 100rds per year after the initial awe factor wears off.

It is just the gun and several mags - no box/paperwork/etc. Seller wants $1,600. Is this low, average, or high?

Thank you for any and all input!

57springer

Buckeye
I bought the same gun new in 1984 and still have it . The stock is definitely original, looks like a flash hider added. As for accuracy they are not target guns and were not meant to be. That is about top money. They don't come up for sale very often ,as for the stocks , they bring 600 as take off parts themselves ! Very cool guns!!!

mac66

Single-Sixer
Those are cool rifles and not too many around anymore. I think the price is a bit high but you might want to look on Gunbroker or other auction sites to see what they are going for.

57springer

Buckeye
Wow ! I just looked at gun broker and there are several listed . one up to $1255 right now , they are bringing more than I thought . another to start a $1999. I wish I had bought several at what I recall was about $435 back in the day !