Mini 14 vs. Mini Thirty

Help Support Ruger Forum:

joshuway

Bearcat
Greetings!
I'm sure this question has been asked many times before, but I'm a long time Ruger fan and am proud to own a Vaquero and a Single Six, but most of my experience with rifles is either with flintlocks or the M16/M4. Anyway, I'm looking for a good all purpose rifle and am interested in opinions on the Mini 14 versus the Mini Thirty. Fire away!

Geoff Timm

Single-Sixer
The 5.56/.223 is a varmint round.
7.62x39 is a .30-30 light bullet equivalent.
Neither is a big game rifle. What is your intended target? Other alternatives? Local cost of ammunition?
Some farming folks want Ruger to bring back the .44 Magnum Deerfield. Similar characteristics as the Mini, but more short range punch for wild pigs.
Geoff
Who has a second model Mini.

joshuway

Bearcat
I've been shooting and hunting for about 25 years, and have 5 combat deployments with the US Army. So .223 vs 7.62 capabilities and performance is known to me. On the homefront, however, is where I lack knowledge of modern rifles. Was just wanting some general opinions and experience regarding the 14 and the Thirty. For instance, how hard/easy is it to find 7.62x39mm in the US?

DGW1949

Hunter
For the uses I put light rifle to, I prefer the 7.62X39 cartridge over the 5.56 .