Gunshow Purchase: Blackhawk Convertible 9mm/357mag

Help Support Ruger Forum:

QB

Single-Sixer
While I'm waiting for my Bisley SS 45Colt/45ACP to arrive I decided to purchase the 9mm/.357mag convertible today at the gunshow. It's the only one I saw so I grabbed it up. I'll try to take better pictures later this week and will write a range report if and when I ever get to the range.

I have a couple SS Single Six revolvers (4 5/8th barrel) and they have one fluted and one un-fluted cylinder. So does the Bisley SS I just ordered. Sure wish this model had one of the cylinders unfluted because I like the look. Also wish it came in SS. This is the only blued handgun I have but the finish is very very nice.

I'm new to Ruger single action revolvers and am still very confused on the different grip frames, cylinder frames, etc. But I did the old magnet test and this gun appears to have an alum grip frame. It came with 2 "keys" so I guess it has the lock (I didn't take off the grips to see but I'm sure it must if it came with keys).

If I wanted to order different grips, would specifying NM Blackhawk with lock mechanism be enough to get the correct size grips??? Do I have to tell them it's a 9mm/.357mag convertible??

Thanks

BlackhawkConvertible9mm357mag.jpg

StanMemTn

Single-Sixer
QB":nsnlrwvn said:
I'm new to Ruger single action revolvers and am still very confused on the different grip frames, cylinder frames, etc. But I did the old magnet test and this gun appears to have an alum grip frame. It came with 2 "keys" so I guess it has the lock (I didn't take off the grips to see but I'm sure it must if it came with keys).

If I wanted to order different grips, would specifying NM Blackhawk with lock mechanism be enough to get the correct size grips??? Do I have to tell them it's a 9mm/.357mag convertible??

Nice buy!