Converting left-handed 10/22

Help Support Ruger Forum:

budder

Bearcat
Hey all,

I want to build a left-handed 10/22. But since the only way to acquire a left-ejecting receiver is to purchase the custom Ruger left-handed 10/22, I'm gonna have to start with that. So my plan is to buy the rifle from Ruger, pull the receiver, and build the rest of the gun around that. My question: Is there any reason this might not work?

https://ruger.com/micros/customShop/img/products/features/10-22-LH-BlackGray.jpg

Stock, barrel, trigger, etc. should be universal between the two platforms, right? I know that the left-handed model has to use specific magazines, but is there anything else? Like are the bolts or charging handles specific to one or the other? I'm coming from the AR world and I have no experience with 10/22s. With the AR, if you have a left-ejecting receiver, the only other thing you really need to be left-specific is the bolt carrier group.

Also, since I will now have a "receiver-less" 10/22, I figured I might as well "put it back together" and give it to a family member. So now my question in reverse: Can I just buy a regular receiver and put it in the left-handed chassis with all left-handed parts? If not, why not/what else needs to be swapped?

Thanks!

I've never even seen a left-handed 10/22, but FWIW I would GUESS the barrel might be cut/relieved on the left to clear a left-side extractor, and the ejector would be on the right side of the trigger assembly to kick the empties out the left side of the receiver. You could probably modify a standard barrel (or possibly use a 77/22 barrel - seems like they were cut for dual extractors??); but you might have to stick with the factory left-handed trigger housing. Hopefully one of the 10/22 guys will jump in & provide more than guesses!

Good luck with it, sounds like a fun project!
:)