Casting, your thoughts on Lee microband/tumble lube bullets?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

SuperSwede

Bearcat
I´m thinking about getting into casting my own..

I´ve been looking into the Lee mircoband/tumble lubed bullets, but I have no hands-on experience of them.
Noone in my area thet I´ve spoken to uses them.

Anyone here that uses them? pros and cons?
Any issues on precision compared to traditional lube grooved bullets ?
Lee states "More accurate than ordinary cast bullets".. sales pitch or truth?? :?

And since I´m on a budget it would be nice to cut out a lube/sizer press from the total..
Lee claims that the TL moulds require no sizing, and if so that would be great !
Even if sizeing are required, the lee pushtrough sizer at 20$ sounds better than a lubesizer press at 200$..

I´m considering the TL358-158 SWC for 38spl loads in my GP 100 and S&W 686 snubby.
Also TL356-124-2R for use in my 9mm and perhaps a TL452-200SWC for my 45acp

I´m a precision shooter at 25 meters, not a 7 feet plinker.. :wink: so sub 2 inch groups are required to keep me happy with a bullet at that distance.
My Gp100 put 148gr HBWC into a nice 1 inch cluster, but that bullet are no longer available to me and i´m runnig out.. :cry:

Kindly..

bnewberry

Single-Sixer
They do work ok if you do your part. The Lee sizer works as well and you may need it depending on the lead mix you use and your gun. The tumble lube works great but is messy.

Clovishound

Blackhawk
A lot of people report severe leading with the tumble lube bullets. My buddy and I tried them and had that experience, as well as very poor accuracy.

I use standard lube groove Lee molds, and pan lube then size with a Lee sizer. I have had good luck with this. It requires time to produce a couple hundred bullets ready for loading, but it kept me shooting last year when components were non existent.