Single-Six VS MKIII Accuracy?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Hylander

Single-Sixer
Ok,
So I have owned a few of the revolvers and a few MK's.
To my thinking the revolver should be more accurate than an MK.
Kinda like a bolt rifle being more accurate than an AR for the most part, not always of course.
So I have yet to see the revolver come even close to MK in accuracy.
What say you?

I get what you're thinking. The Mark series has just been perfected so much that they are right up there at the top of competition levels.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I think the fixed barrel and the design of the bolt vs a slide helps with accuracy.

I'm sure there are other reasons. Which makes another good question: "What makes the Mark series more accurate than other guns."

I don't have a single six(never had a 22 revolver). I have one 22/45 III and three 22/45 II. I'd be very surprised if the single six comes even close to the 22/45 accuracy. The thing is: I've not found a 'doggy' Ruger 22 pistol. What's the average accuracy expectation of a random group of singe six revolvers?

hittman

Staff member
I've had Single Six and MKII ( not III ). Had a couple different barrel lengths MKII.

Never ever in a million years was I as accurate with the revolver as I was with the MKII. Not even close.

Cholo

Staff member
I never owned a MKlll, but...

The first MKll I ever bought was a Competition model. No reason to suspect it would shoot any better or worse than a MKlll model.

I mounted a 2x6 scope on it and shot consistent one small hole 10 shot groups at 25 yds. off sandbags--over and over again with Winchester Power Points. I'm talking 3/8".

About the same time I shot my '75 Super Single Six off sandbags and the best 6 shot groups I got averaged 1.84" with the same Power Points, though without a scope.

It would take a rare Single Six that could outshoot a MK anything.