Cleaning brass?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

grobin

Blackhawk
I am just getting into reloading and was wondering if cleaning brass after resizing using an ultrasound cleaner is a good idea?

NikA

Buckeye
I think you'll find most people clean brass before resizing to prevent carbon and crud from getting into the dies and possibly scratching cases. I used to use an ultrasonic cleaner, which worked well but required frequent attention; I currently use dish soap and citric acid in a large sealed tub with stainless pins, shaken by hand, which can sit for days without being in the way or affecting the brass quality. Doing that in the ultrasonic stained the brass (but it was still clean enough to reload).

Clovishound

Blackhawk
I used to clean mine about every 5th reloading or so using dish soap and citric acid. I have since switched to the more common vibratory tumbler. I much prefer this method. The tumblers are cheap and effective.

AzShooter1

Single-Sixer
I use a dry tumbler from Dillon with corn cob media before resizing. Brass comes out nice and clean. I tumble after every usage. It makes my dies work better.

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
I use a vibratory tumbler with a 50/50 mix of corn cob and crushed walnut shell media with a squirt of case polish. The shells come out shiny clean and ready for sizing.

Chief 101

Hunter
its nice to have pretty brass to shoot but getting all of the case lube off can be important if for some reason the ammo is not used up quickly enough. I do whatever cleaning I deem necessary after case prep...

Tom W

Blackhawk
I wipe mine down, resize it with carbide dies and then clean it. Every step is an inspection step.

There are times where I'll just take my decapping die and decap, clean and then resize, depending on the amount of brass needing attention.

mikld

Blackhawk