Appendix Carry

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Fredo

Bearcat
I'm new to firearms. I'm getting a Ruger Security 9 and I'm thinking of concealed carry. I've taken the CCW course and planning to get more training. That being said, as newbie I'm a bit scared about an appendix carry la my fear unfounded?

epags

Single-Sixer
Finger off the trigger when drawing and when re-holstering....oh, and don't let your shirt or pants get between the firearm and the holdster when re-holstering...OUCH.

epags

Single-Sixer
Finger off the trigger when drawing and when re-holstering....oh, and don't let your shirt or pants get between the firearm and the holdster when re-holstering...OUCH.
@Fredo My instructor pointed out that you have all the time in the word when re-holstering so don't rush and pay attention as to how you are re-holstering.

Fredo

Bearcat
I don't know much about the best way to carry. I've watched a few YouTube videos where it was said that that's preferable but I know a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
I don't know much about the best way to carry. I've watched a few YouTube videos where it was said that that's preferable but I know a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing
What's preferable is the carry method that works with you and that days wardrobe. For some that's appendix, for others it's cross draw, hip (iwb or owb) or shoulder holster, etc. . Each of these and other methods are heavily dependent on several other factors. A common change up in carry is switching from "city carry" where maximum concealment is desired (at the expense of slowing your draw time) to rural or woods carry, where concealment is not necessary or desired, and ease of draw is paramount, or purely competition.

Each such change normally requires a different holster/belt. Which is why many of us have a drawer full of holsters for different guns and different circumstances.