Scope for a 10/22 carbine

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Uncleman

Bearcat
Hello- I just received a gift of a brand new Ruger 10/22 Carbine. I'm new to Ruger and this seems like a great little firearm. Recently I've come to the point where I put a scope on a Marlin 30-30 and I really like it much better now so I'd like to scope the Ruger. The rifle came with a factory scope base adapter (not installed). I'm wondering if someone from the forum could suggest a nice scope for this rifle that will just bolt right up without any modifications.
Thank you.

9x19

Hunter
The current 10/22s come with a scope base that accepts Weaver-style rings... there are lots of brands and they come in varying heights.

Scopes can be cheap to expensive, fixed 4x to huge varialbes... What kind of scope do you have on your Marlin?

If you're a hunter/plinker a good 4x would work fine, or if you go after moving game, then a red-dot with no magnification can also work well. If you want some options a good low-powered variable (2x-7x) would also serve fine.

Nikon offers both in their ProStaff Rimfire line, and Leupold does as well in their Vx1 and Fx1.

wwb

Hunter
I have two 10/22 carbines.....

One is just as it came from the factory except for a trigger job (4 lb pull, but crisp). I use it for bunnies and squirrels, and it's fitted with a Bushnell 1.5-4.5.

The other has an aftermarket bull barrel, a Boyd's stock, a 2 lb trigger, and a CPC accuracy job. It's used for target and the occasional South Dakota prairie dog shoot (anything out to 125 yards is dead), and that one has a Simmons 4-12X40 AO.

Lots of rounds through both, and no scope problems after many years. My centerfire rifles are a different story.... a Leupold on the .44 mag and a Zeiss on the .30-06.