Lee Breech Lock presses: thoughts?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

Just window shopping...

I see Lee's added the Breech Lock feature from their latest Challenger press to the Classic Cast single stage.

Has anyone used one of these "new" presses yet? And, if you're familiar w/ Hornady's Lock 'n' Load system, too, any comparisons between the two?

Rick C

opos

Buckeye
I got one of the Anniversary kits and the Breeck Lock system for the dies is something I really like...yes I'm a newbie reloader (actually back after a 40 year layoff) and I wanted something to reload several handgun calibers...The way the bushings just screw on to the dies and then they easilly twist and lock into the press. I'm sure that it's all pretty unexciting to a loader with a multi station press but not knowing the difference and wanting something pretty simple..it's great. I've loaded 38 special, 45 ACP and am getting ready to load some 9mm. From my standpoint (of a new reloader) the simple nature of the breechlock system was really a pleasure...I bought several "sets" of 2 bushings on line for $8 so I'd have plenty of them for the die sets (I use 4 die Lee sets)...It really makes it easy not having to adjust dies or worry about them going out of adjustment. When I bought the kit I didn't even know it used the Breechlock system and wouldn't have known what it was anyway..it just all showed up and away I went. That's my 2 cents worth.

GP100man

Buckeye
Rick C

Ifin I was lookin for a new press & I really don`t fancy progressive I`d buy the lee 4hole classic cast turret , mount the dies use it as a single stage & when changin calibers your done in seconds !!!with another turret head of course !

The challenger press is alot heavier than the first 1 & the breech lock just speeds up changin dies .

The lee sys is fine locks where the Hornady sys uses big lugs .

Hope this helps even if a little

Bucks Owin

Hunter
GP100man said:
Rick C