Is my barrel chipped?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

L3g4cY

Bearcat
So I just purchased my first 1911 and second handgun total I'm by no means an expert so I figured I'd post pictures and see what you guys think. I'm really hoping it's normal since my sr9c is going back to ruger tomorrow for a trigger issue I'd rather not have both my handguns have to go back

Took the 1911 out shooting today 50 rounds of federal is all I had came home to clean and inspect as well as familiarize myself with the pistol a little more and saw a couple nicks in the barrel. We have a machine shop and this doesn't look too much like a maching error let me know what you guys think.

8C5BCB08-B960-4023-8873-0E1381651A48_zpsyquhtppi.jpg

BC4A11A8-F768-43CD-8721-A21965799BEE_zpsmqsucnym.jpg

L3g4cY

Bearcat
that sucks lol prob should contact them about this one tomorrow i guess and see what ruger CS has to say about it.

Brian48

Bearcat
I had a Colt that had those nics. Sloppy tooling. Typically this is just cosmetic. If the gun shoots OK and there's no sign that it's getting worse, I'd say just ignore it.

L3g4cY

Bearcat
yeah i took a look at it again with the old man who has 40 years of machining experience and he said its nothing to sweat, when looking at it through the ejection port the marks are no where near where it looks like the bullet actually slides up the feed ramp so unless it starts to give me feed issues i'm not worried about it and i'll try to polish that off before wasting time sending it back to ruger.

thanks for the replies

revhigh

Hawkeye
Ya know ... I'm usually on the OTHER side of conversations like this ... But to be honest ... I wouldn't like that ... Although I'm sure it would cause no issues, I still might look into getting that barrel replaced.

REV

GunnyGene

Hawkeye