Redhawk Spring Swap?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Aqualung

Blackhawk
My .41 Redhawk Hunter has what I thought was a pretty decent DA trigger pull, until I got a S&W Target Masterpiece, which pretty much spoiled me and made me think that maybe improvements can be made in my other DA revolvers.

Many years ago, I'd swapped out the mainspring on my SP101 for a lower power so my wife could fire it DA. I also replaced the rebound spring on my Chief's Special for the same reason.

So, while I was on the Wolff site, I also picked up a "Shooters Pack" that has 12#, 13# and 14# springs (17# is OEM).

Installation seems easy, so I'm not worried about that.

Has anyone else tried swapping out mainsprings on a Redhawk? What were your results? At what point (if any) did you get light strikes?

Thanks.

Aqualung

gnappi

Single-Sixer
My .44 Redhawk was abysmal and it was a tightrope replacing the mainspring. Back then the spring kits came three in a pack and were color coded. Too light and I had light primer strikes and or no ignition, and even the heaviest of the three had issues so IIRC I wound up keeping the stock spring in it till I sold it in favor of a model 29 and 629 from Smith.

gunzo

Hunter
You'll have to test to find out how low you can go without misfires in both single & double action as misfires will show up first using double action.
It's also advisable to test with different brands of ammo, or primers if you reload as some are harder than others.