Dies?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

FieldGrade

Bearcat
First.....I have plenty of experience with reloading rifles but very little with hand guns and Carbide dies.
I usually just buy ammo for my hand guns but this new 44spec has me rethinking that.

So which dies...RCBS 3 die or Lee 4 die....for a casual plinker shooting cast bullets using a single stage Forster press.

Thanks
Charlie

RSIno1

Hunter
I've always used RCBS. Carbide for straight wall cases. The Lee set uses 4 because they have one to dump powder through for their progressive or a separate crimp die. The RCBS seats and crimps with one die.

kwh

Bearcat
I am a hobbyist reloader and like the Lee 3 carbide dies due to their cost and efficiency.
For a single stage press I would suggest the following:
Resize & deprime all shells.
Prime all with a hand held unit if the Forster does not have a primer arm.
Use the Lee charge through the belling die =2 steps on same die. Lee provides a powder dipper so no worry about missed or double charge of powder.
Use the single Lee seating + crimping die.
If more efficiency is desired, a Lee C-press can be purchased for approx. $37.00. So instead of placing the shells individually in a loading block, and then using the seating /crimp die in the Foster, charge the shells in the Foster then transfer shell directly to the seat & crimp die in the Lee. Cheaper than a progressive press and about as quick.
I like the coated bullets. Less mess during handling and no waxy smoke when shooting.

FieldGrade

Bearcat
Good info guys..........keep it coming.

So far I'm leaning towards the RCBS because I'm familiar with their quality and CS.

PS....I'm only interested in the two sets of dies in my OP.

NikA

Buckeye