Cleaning Frequency

Help Support Ruger Forum:

*chillin*

Bearcat
I'm new to Firearms. I have two Ruger revolvers, a lcr 357 and a Wrangler. I clean them after every trip to the range
I'm thinking of purchasing a Security 9. Does a pistol need to be cleaned after every use too?
Top priority is to make sure you are cleaning it correctly!
Lot's of damage can occur if not done so.

OLE_X_ME

Bearcat
I'm new to Firearms. I have two Ruger revolvers, a lcr 357 and a Wrangler. I clean them after every trip to the range
I'm thinking of purchasing a Security 9. Does a pistol need to be cleaned after every use too?
i care less what others do with thier guns.

i clean & lube my guns after every range trip.

it does not harm the guns.

Hoppes #9, or Kroil, are what i use most times, and i use a spray cleaner (not a CLP) to get into areas a brush or q-tip cannot get into.

and i use a "pancake style" air compressor, bought at Harbor Freight to blow out the gun in areas i cannot get a patch into...(it has an adjustable blow gun to reduce air pressure)

i use either Lucas Extreme duty gun oil, or EWG (extreme weapons grease from Slip 2000) or FP 10, or Mobil 1.. ... for lube points.

sometimes i use Rem oil to lightly rub on the entire gun when it gets put away.

this is what i do, and have been doing, and will continue to do.,

1708523396237.png

Pál_K

Single-Sixer
After every trip to the range, I clean my guns or at least put a boresnake through them and wipe them down if I'm going to shoot them again within the week. Otherwise, I'll do a full cleaning later that day or the next day. Sometimes I will take the boresnake, CLP, and cloth to the range and do a quick-clean of the guns while there.

I've let guns sit in the safe for years without re-cleaning them; I see no damage.

Where cleaning becomes harmful is when metal rods are used aggressively and carelessly from the muzzle end.

Actnbill

Single-Sixer
Black powder most cleaned.....
Semi Auto handguns next....
Revolvers...